NORFOLK BOARD OF EDUCATION

Regular Meeting -August 20, 2024

MINUTES

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Virginia Coleman-Prisco, John DeShazo, Amy Bennett,

Walter Godlewski, Janet Byrne, Donna Rubin

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: J. Whitaker

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Mary Beth Iacobelli, Superintendent, Lauren Valentino, Principal

ADMINISTRATION ABSENT:

The meeting was called to order at 4:03 P.M.

Public Comments:

Mr. Jamie Santiesteban addressed the board.

Mrs. Jessica Listorti addressed the board.

<u>Motion by W. Godlewski seconded by A. Bennett to approve the minutes of the June 4, 2024 regular meeting Abstaining; Janet Byrne; Virginia Coleman-Prisco, Donna Rubin MOTION APPROVED.</u>

Correspondence: None

Board Chair Virginia Coleman-Prisco asked for a motion to move the election of officers from new business on the agenda to just under correspondence. Motion by W. Godlewski **seconded by** J. DeShazo;

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Election of Officers:

W. Godlewski motioned to nominate V. Coleman-Prisco as Board Chair seconded by J. Byrne.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

- D.Rubin motioned to nominate J. DeShazo as Vice-Chair J. Byrne motioned to nominate A. Bennett.
- A. Bennett declined the nomination of Vice Chair.
- W. Godlewski seconded the nomination of J. DeShazo UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.
- J. Byrne nominated herself to fill the role of Secretary. J. DeShazo seconded. UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.

Superintendent's Report: The superintendent shared her report with the board.

Principal's Report: Mrs. Valentino shared her report with the board.

Committee Reports: None

Unfinished Business:

2024-2025 school lunch prices: lunch prices will remain the same for the 2024-2025 school year.

DEI Plan- Motion by J. Byrne, seconded by J. DeShazo to submit the DEI Plan to the state.

UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED

New Business:

Approval of the 2024-2025 Bus Routes:

<u>Motion by</u> D. Rubin <u>seconded by</u>. J. Byrne to approve the 2024-2025 Bus Routes. **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.**

Board Workshop: New requirement for board members. Superintendent Iacobelli will reach out to Johnathan Costa with dates and times to schedule a workshop.

Board Chair V. Coleman-Prisco asked that the meeting of September 3,2024 be held at 5:00.

<u>Motion by D.</u> Rubin <u>seconded by</u>. J. Byrne to change to regular meeting on September 3, 2024 to a special meeting due to change of time from 6:00 pm to 5:00 pm. **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.**

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u>. J. Byrne to adjourn the meeting @ 4:45 pm <u>UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.</u>

Meeting adjourned @ 4:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lippincott Kathy Lippincott, Recording Secretary

THESE ARE NOT APPROVED MINUTES SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL AT THE NEXT MEETING.