## NORFOLK BOARD OF EDUCATION

## Regular Meeting -May 13, 2025

### **MINUTES**

**BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**: Virginia Coleman-Prisco, John DeShazo, Jay Whitaker(zoom),

Amy Bennett(zoom), Donna Rubin, Walter Godlewski, Janet Byrne

**BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT:** 

**ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:** Mary Beth Iacobelli, Superintendent, Lauren Valentino, Principal

**ADMINISTRATION ABSENT:** 

The meeting was called to order at 5:33 P.M.

## **Sixth Grade Awards Presentation:**

The Frank C. Reilly Creative Writing Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Brion Dillard The Jean S. Keiller Memorial Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Elana Hunt

## **Public Comments:**

None

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u> J. Whitaker to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of April 8, 2025 **abstaining** J. Byrne **MOTION APPROVED** 

**Superintendent's Report:** The superintendent shared her report with the board.

**Principal's Report:** Mrs. Valentino shared her report with the board.

**Committee Reports:** The following committee chairs reported to the board:

Personnel and Negotiations

PTO

Finance – the town approved the 2025-2026 budget

Policy --- 1st Reading of the State Mandated Restorative Practices Policy

#### **Undiminished Business:**

Revisit Promotion Date --- Due to a scheduling conflict the promotion date will be changed to June 11<sup>th</sup> at 5:30 p.m.

<u>New Business:</u> Increase in breakfast/lunch prices for the 2025-2026 school year. After some discussion the board voted to approve an increase in prices: breakfast will go from \$1.75 to \$2.00 and lunch will go from \$3.00 to \$3.50

<u>Motion by</u> W. Godlewski <u>seconded by</u> D. Rubin to increase breakfast and lunch prices for the 2025-2026 school year.

## **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.**

There will be a special meeting on June 3, 2025. The board will go into executive session to interview the final candidates for the superintendent position.

The regular board meeting of June 10, 2025 will be held as scheduled.

Motion by J. Whitaker seconded by. W. Godlewski to adjourn the meeting @ 6:34

# **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.**

Meeting adjourned @ 6:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lippincott

Kathy Lippincott,

**Recording Secretary** 

THESE ARE NOT APPROVED MINUTES SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL AT THE NEXT MEETING.