### NORFOLK BOARD OF EDUCATION

# Regular Meeting -April 8, 2025

### **MINUTES**

**BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**: Virginia Coleman-Prisco, John DeShazo, Jay Whitaker(zoom),

Amy Bennett, Donna Rubin, Walter Godlewski

**BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT**: Janet Byrne

**ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:** Mary Beth Iacobelli, Superintendent, Lauren Valentino, Principal

ADMINISTRATION ABSENT:

The meeting was called to order at 5:32 P.M.

# **Sixth Grade Awards Presentation:**

The CT Association of Public-School Superintendents Leadership Award presented by Superintendent Iacobelli was given to Elana Hunt

The Susan A. Bruso Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Luke Debrule and Elana Hunt

The Dot Casey Deloy Computer Award presented by Mrs. Valentino was given to Michael Prisco

# **Public Comments:**

None

**Superintendent's Report:** The superintendent shared her report with the board.

**Principal's Report:** Mrs. Valentino shared her report with the board.

**Committee Reports:** The following committee chairs reported to the board:

PTO

Health and Wellness School Safety EDC

### **Undiminished Business:**

Superintendent Search Committee— board members that will be part of the committee will be Virginia Coleman-Prisco, Donna Rubin, Jay Whitaker and Walter Godlewski. No community members have reached out at this point. Two staff members have expressed interest so far.

## **New Business:**

6<sup>th</sup> Grade Promotion – Dates for promotion were discussed. The board discussed changing the June 10<sup>th</sup> board meeting so promotion could be held on that date. The decision was made to hold the board meeting on June 3, 2025 at 5:30 and promotion will be June 10, 2025.

<u>Motion by A.</u> Bennett <u>seconded by.</u> W. Godlewski to cancel the June 10, 2025 meeting and schedule a special meeting on June 3, 2025

**UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.** 

<u>Motion by</u> J. DeShazo <u>seconded by</u> D. Rubin to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of February 11, 2025 **abstaining** A. Bennett and J. Whitaker <u>MOTION APPROVED</u>

<u>Motion by</u> J. Whitaker <u>seconded by</u> V. Coleman-Prisco to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of March 11, 2025 **abstaining** D. Rubin and W. Godlewski MOTION <u>APPROVED</u>

<u>Motion by</u> J. Whitaker <u>seconded by</u>. W. Godlewski to adjourn the meeting @ 6:34 **UNANIMOUSLY APPROVED.** 

Meeting adjourned @ 6:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Lippincott

Kathy Lippincott, Recording Secretary

THESE ARE NOT APPROVED MINUTES SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OR DISAPPROVAL AT THE NEXT MEETING.